Trailblazer Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone replace stock speakers yet? Thinking of doing so in the near future and was wondering how much of a process it will be.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Anyone replace stock speakers yet? Thinking of doing so in the near future and was wondering how much of a process it will be.
Jeff...I'm about to tackle the front driver's door speaker tomorrow...have watched a few YouTube videos on how to do it...doesn't look that difficult...not sure about the rear door speakers, but suspect they're probably very similar to the front door speakers. Will let you know if I run into anything weird or hard to do...I'm an amateur "mechanic"...at best... :)

·
Registered
72 Posts
What speakers were you thinking of? I might replace the stock speakers in mine too, they're not that great.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What speakers were you thinking of? I might replace the stock speakers in mine too, they're not that great.
I bought some kickers from crutchfield...put one in the rear passenger door and tried it out before I did any more.sounded worse then the stock did. So I put the stock back in

·
Registered
72 Posts
I bought some kickers from crutchfield...put one in the rear passenger door and tried it out before I did any more.sounded worse then the stock did. So I put the stock back in
Stock speakers are probably low ohm so they don't need as much power to push. If you replace with speakers that are a higher ohm they will sound like crap because the stock amp is probably only pushing 20-30 watts per channel.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Stock speakers are probably low ohm so they don't need as much power to push. If you replace with speakers that are a higher ohm they will sound like crap because the stock amp is probably only pushing 20-30 watts per channel.

Wasn't even aware I had an amp...not with the non bose system. Can it be disabled?/removed?

·